Student Government Association

The Student Government Association (SGA) is the student body’s official voice for representation and advocacy for student concerns within the campus community. SGA is divided into three branches: executive, legislative, and judicial. SGA is governed internally by a constitution crafted by its Senate and adopted by the student body through referendum. SGA is governed externally by applicable state law pertaining to matters including, but not limited to, purchasing, procurement, and travel; University of Louisiana System Board of Supervisors policies, by-laws and rules; and University policies related to student employment, scholarships, payroll, facilities use, student organization regulations, and other operational issues. The Senate is the sole, legally-constituted body recognized by the University to authorize requests for expenditure of Student Government Association fee and Organization fee funds. Weekly meetings of the Student Government Association Senate are held each Wednesday at 4 p.m. Contact the SGA office, located in the Holbrook Student Union, for information about meeting location and issues of current interest.